Working somewhere where you can have access to the latest technology can be a blessing or a curse. Basically, you try and justify whether you really need something or if you’re getting it just because. So, when I decided I didn’t need an iPad or I didn’t need a Samsung Galaxy tablet I gave up. However, now I feel like I might want a Kindle Fire and I’m sure I can weigh up the pros and cons to justify this purchase…maybe…

Pros
1. It’s light and can fit in my bag. This means that for the remaining 5months of my course I will not have to buy anymore books to carry round. I can simply get it off my Kindle.
2. I can put films on it. So when I’m bored I can keep myself occupied with a film or two. It has an HDMI port so I can connect it to my TV if I want to.
3. Books on the go, and instantly. The way technology is going there is an increase in the e-book market. A lot of publishers are catering to this and having books both printed and published via an e-book. This shows that publishers can benefit from the sales of e-readers.
4. It has a colour screen and I can view Facebook and the web as it is on my PC.

Cons
1. If i need Facebook I can pretty much use my phone.
2. I’m never on long enough journeys to need to watch a film.
3. Will I miss the feel of a book. The answer is probably yes.
4. It’s only Wi-fi enabled so it’s not like I can download books on the go. (Yet there are ways around that).

I’m sure there are more reasons why. The main reason is can I justify spending £159 (16gb hd) on something I may or may not use? We’ll see how it goes…

